Matthews, Ewan and Hosking to lead Australian road world championships team


Michael Matthews, Caleb Ewan and Chloe Hosking will spearhead Australia’s campaign at the 2021 World Road Championships in Flanders next month.

Matthews – 2015 road race silver medalist – and Ewan will lead an eight-rider men’s team for the 268km road race which features some 42 climbs and approximately 2,500 meters of elevation gain. Alongside Matthews and Ewan will join Luke Durbridge, Miles Scotson, Nick Schultz, Harry Sweeny, Rob Stannard and Nathan Haas.

After a stage victory at the Ladies Tour of Norway – her first race after COVID – Hosking will spearhead a seven-rider women’s team that also includes two-time world medalist Amanda Spratt, Tiff Cromwell, national champion Sarah Roy, Lauretta Hanson, Brodie Chapman and Jess Allen. The women’s road race will be contested over 156 km with 20 climbs and just over 1,000 meters of elevation gain.

“The world championship route in the Flanders region of Belgium will be a tough and exciting race,” said Rory Sutherland, elite road coordinator for the Australian cycling team. “The Australian team 2021 is a unique combination of seasoned veterans and newbie athletes of the rising generation, and we are confident that this combination will lead to a positive result.

“We are delighted that our talented U23 riders now have the opportunity to compete on the world stage after a year of hiatus due to COVID-19. This is extremely important for the future of AusCycling and the development of our next generation of Australian cyclists.

Jarrad Drizners, Jensen Plowright and Alastair MacKellar will represent Australia in the U23 men’s race, while new Ineos Grenadiers signings Luke Plapp and Carter Turnbull will compete in the U23 men’s time trial. It is not yet clear who will participate in the elite men’s and women’s time trials.

The 2021 World Road Championships will take place from September 19-26, starting with the elite men’s individual time trial.

Australian team for the 2021 Road Worlds

Men road race

  • Michael Matthews, ACT
  • Caleb Ewan, NSW
  • Luke Durbridge, WA
  • Miles Scotson, SA
  • Nicholas Schultz, QLD
  • Harry Sweeny, QLD
  • Robert Stannard, NSW
  • Nathan Haas, ACT

Women road race

  • Chloe Hosking, ACT
  • Tiffany Cromwell, SA
  • Amanda Spratt, NSW
  • Sarah Roy, NSW
  • Lauretta Hanson, VIC
  • Brodie Chapman, VIC
  • Jess Allen, WA

Road race men U23

  • Jarrad Drizners, SA
  • Jensen Plowright, VIC
  • Alastair MacKellar, QLD

Men’s Time Trial U23

  • Lucas Plapp, VIC
  • Carter Turnbull, Vice-President

Source link


Leave A Reply